OrderedBytes
OrderedBytes User Forum
FAQ FAQ     Search Search     Memberlist Memberlist     Usergroups Usergroups     Register Register
Profile Profile     Log in to check your private messages Log in to check your private messages     Log in Log in
Can't get mouse to trigger keys anymore
Display posts from previous:         View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic Reply to topic Subscribe to this topic    The OrderedBytes Forum -> Support
Can't get mouse to trigger keys anymore Tue Jun 13, 2017 12:11 pm  •   #11414
psygn



Joined: 17 Dec 2011
Posts: 9

Hi,

After the past few updates (I think sometime early last year), some of my macros stopped working. Same mouse, latest version of OSX, latest version of ControllerMate.

I believe something changed whether at the system level or ControllerMate level that is blocking the shortcut keys from registering.

I have Button 4 and Button 5 disabled.


Button 4 = "Back" button on side of mouse.
(shows up as "On" when Button 4 pressed -- configured as press and hold)

Using OSX's Keyboard Viewer, pressing shortcut keys manually via keyboard highlights the keys (not shown below).


Using Button 4 also highlights (not shown below) the keys but the layout changes for some reason (see below)... is there something else being pressed? Are the keys being sent from ControllerMate different than the keyboard?



Basically, if I press the keys manually on my keyboard then it works fine. If I use Button 4, the keys seem to register according to the keyboard viewer (with some weird layout change included inside the Keyboard Viewer... not sure if theres any clue in that) but it doesn't seem to be picked up by my programs.

Any idea as to why?

Thanks!
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Tue Jun 13, 2017 2:30 pm  •   #11415
Ken
Developer


Joined: 27 Mar 2006
Posts: 3945

The different keyboard layouts shown in the Keyboard Viewer are primarily a visual effect. If you had multiple Apple keyboards attached, the on-screen image would match whichever keyboard was being used at that moment. In the case of ControllerMate's virtual keyboard, it seems to use a best guess as to which layout to use.

There have been changes in Sierra that have required updates in how ControllerMate generates keys. Are you using ControllerMate v4.10.2? It has been available in the updater since April, but I just updated the version number of the website.
_________________
Ken
www.orderedbytes.com - www.controllermate.com
ControllerMate -- Programming controllers for Mac OS X since 2005.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Tue Jun 13, 2017 8:26 pm  •   #11416
psygn



Joined: 17 Dec 2011
Posts: 9

I thought I had updated to the latest but apparently I didn't. Updating did the trick. Thanks so much for your wonderful app!
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Post new topic Reply to topic Subscribe to this topic    The OrderedBytes Forum -> Support
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Copyright © 2005 — 2012 OrderedBytes
All rights reserved.