OrderedBytes
OrderedBytes User Forum
FAQ FAQ     Search Search     Memberlist Memberlist     Usergroups Usergroups     Register Register
Profile Profile     Log in to check your private messages Log in to check your private messages     Log in Log in
Detect fn key?
Display posts from previous:         View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic Reply to topic Subscribe to this topic    The OrderedBytes Forum -> Support
Detect fn key? Sat Aug 19, 2017 9:06 am  •   #11545
theonlygusti



Joined: 19 Aug 2017
Posts: 2

How can I detect that F11 is being pressed simultaneously with the fn key?
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Fri Aug 25, 2017 2:06 pm  •   #11563
Ken
Developer


Joined: 27 Mar 2006
Posts: 3979

Whether or not ControllerMate can see the fn key on your keyboard will depend on the model of keyboard that you are using. The fn key is a non-standard button that seems to be implemented differently by different manufacturers. Which keyboard are you using?
_________________
Ken
www.orderedbytes.com - www.controllermate.com
ControllerMate -- Programming controllers for Mac OS X since 2005.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Fri Aug 25, 2017 2:26 pm  •   #11564
theonlygusti



Joined: 19 Aug 2017
Posts: 2

Ken wrote:
Whether or not ControllerMate can see the fn key on your keyboard will depend on the model of keyboard that you are using. The fn key is a non-standard button that seems to be implemented differently by different manufacturers. Which keyboard are you using?


Just the keyboard that's built into my MacBook.

I know it's at least possible to detect these kinds of keypresses because Karabiner Elements can do it, hopefully there's a way in controller mate too.
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Fri Oct 06, 2017 8:11 pm  •   #11643
adamlogan



Joined: 01 Jun 2017
Posts: 4

Scratching my head about this too. Capturing fn + f5 just captures f5. I also have Karabiner Elements installed, and am using the keyboard on my Late 2012 Macbook Pro. I'm stumped. I figured I'd just use the keyboard palette but the key is not there, and the keyboard palette does not update when I press the fn key or any modifier key like the mac os keyboard viewer does. I really do not want to have to change the default hotkeys. This seems like such an important thing for a program like this to be able to do, what the heck. Function key is a big deal as a modifier key.

Update, just checked, apparently, the Mac OS keyboard Viewer does not show the function key either, but it does update what the new actions/key when fn is pressed.
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Post new topic Reply to topic Subscribe to this topic    The OrderedBytes Forum -> Support
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Copyright © 2005 — 2012 OrderedBytes
All rights reserved.