OrderedBytes
OrderedBytes User Forum
FAQ FAQ     Search Search     Memberlist Memberlist     Usergroups Usergroups     Register Register
Profile Profile     Log in to check your private messages Log in to check your private messages     Log in Log in
Virtual devices: Update on any value grayed out
Display posts from previous:         View previous topic :: View next topic
Post new topic Reply to topic Subscribe to this topic    The OrderedBytes Forum -> Support
Virtual devices: Update on any value grayed out Thu Dec 07, 2017 4:27 am  •   #11779
kahn10



Joined: 28 Nov 2017
Posts: 4

On virtual tablets, he option reading "Update the output value when the block receives:" is grayed out and set to "a new value". I really need this set to "any value", but I can't find a way to get this un-grayed out. Anyone know what's going on here?
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:33 pm  •   #11780
Ken
Developer


Joined: 27 Mar 2006
Posts: 3994

Currently, that option can't be enabled for virtual axis building blocks. The value for an actual tablet axis should only update when the device reports a changed value in response to the stylus moving. Therefore, the option to update the building block in response to 'any' value is usually irrelevant because there aren't repeated values to ignore.

How would being able to set this option to 'any value' help out in your case?
_________________
Ken
www.orderedbytes.com - www.controllermate.com
ControllerMate -- Programming controllers for Mac OS X since 2005.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Reply with quote
Fri Dec 08, 2017 7:30 pm  •   #11781
kahn10



Joined: 28 Nov 2017
Posts: 4

I'm using a midi board to control a video editing program and I have 16 knobs that I want to map to various controls throughout the application four different ways. I'm using the virtual tablet to select the spot where I want the cursor to go because I can send it x and y coordinates directly, meaning I can reuse my code for all 64 pieces and not have to have 64 cursor reposition blocks. If one wants to visit the same control twice in a row the cursor doesn't move because the numbers haven't updated.

I can't just do my sliding with the virtual tablet itself because after the control is clicked the program I'm controlling moves the cursor to the center of the screen so that it won't run out going left or right, which means the only data the tablet is currently getting is the initialization of the control. After that initial movement I use a relative control block.

I have a workaround where a 1:2 selector alternately subtracts 1 from the input value, hooked up to a toggle, but this is "ugly" and a lot of unnecessary code.

I suppose an alternative fix would be to make a cursor position box with two numeric inputs rather than just an on/off.
View user's profile Send private message Reply with quote
Page 1 of 1 All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Post new topic Reply to topic Subscribe to this topic    The OrderedBytes Forum -> Support
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

Copyright © 2005 — 2012 OrderedBytes
All rights reserved.